Southern Seminary faculty announced as members of new ERLC Research Institute

Communications Staff — August 11, 2014

 NASHVILLE (ERLC/SBTS) — The Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission of the Southern Baptist Convention announced Monday the launch of a new Research Institute under the direction of its president, Russell D. Moore, and the appointment of an array of new scholars and professionals as research fellows, including 16 faculty and doctoral students at The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary.

“The aim of the Research Institute is to be a catalyst to connect the agenda of the gospel to the complex questions of the day—and to do so at the highest levels of academic scholarship for the good of local congregations,” said Moore. “I am thrilled to get to work together with an exceptionally gifted band of scholars and leaders as we seek to be a persuasive, prophetic witness engaging the academy and equipping the church.

The idea of a Research Institute has a long history within the organization. A previous Research Institute was established by the organization in 1999. This new Research Institute and its fellows will assist the ERLC in its mission by producing a variety of materials to equip Southern Baptists and churches to engage ethical and cultural issues of the day.

The newly named fellows come from all six Southern Baptist seminaries, several Baptist colleges, private and public universities and other prominent institutions such as the Heritage Foundation and the American Center for Law and Justice.

ERLC Research Institute fellows include the following Southern Seminary faculty and doctoral students:

Senior Research Fellow

R. Albert Mohler Jr., president

Research Fellows

Randy L. Stinson, senior vice president for academic administration and provost

Owen Strachan, assistant professor of Christian theology and church history

Denny Burk, professor of biblical studies

James M. Hamilton Jr., associate professor of biblical theology

Dan DeWitt, dean of Boyce College

Hershael York, Victor and Louise Lester Professor of Christian Preaching

Heath Lambert, assistant professor of biblical counseling

Matthew J. Hall, vice president of academic services

Kenneth Magnuson, professor of Christian ethics

Mark T. Coppenger, professor of Christian apologetics

Associate Research Fellows

J.T. English, executive assistant to the president

Bryan Baise, assistant professor of worldview and apologetics

Andrew Walker, Ph.D. student

Daniel Patterson, Ph.D. student

Curtis Woods, Ph.D. student

Barrett Duke, the ERLC vice president for public policy and research, directs the Research Institute. Andrew Walker, the ERLC director of policy studies, serves as the Institute’s associate director.

The Research Institute will hold its annual meeting in conjunction with the ERLC National Conference at the Opryland Hotel October 27-29.

The complete list of newly named fellows is available at:

Are you ready to become a pastor, counselor, or church leader who is Trusted for Truth?

Apply now for summer or fall studies

Classes begin in June & Aug.